The most flammable place I have lived in (so far)

2 Feb

This post is mainly for my parents, who still don’t actually know where I live (in terms of housing, not what country I’m in. I’m not THAT bad at keeping in touch). I had originally hoped to live with a family, to get as much Italian practice in as possible, but living on your own definitely has its upsides:

  • Should you wish, you can walk around naked. Not that it’s anywhere near warm enough at the moment.
  • No one will shout at you for leaving washing up until the next day.
  • Same can be said for putting clothes away, making the bed, singing very loudly and out of tune, etc.

So here are a few photos which took an obscene amount of time to upload because of my crappy connection speed. If anyone else who is in Italy at the moment has an alternative solution to using a dongle and it doesn’t involve a 12/24 month contract, please let me know.

Entrance/lounge/study/dining room. The doors by the kitchen open onto a little balcony. Unfortunately, just like in Bordeaux, it’s right next to a main road, so no sunbathing for me.

DSC00023

Kitchen

Bedroom

Of course it definitely always looks as pristine and tidy as this.

You might have noticed the general abundance of kindling (tables, chairs, shelves, window sills, shutters, the floor) which cannot bode well for someone like me who has had relatively little experience of cooking with a gas stove. I’m not sure if I mentioned the time I set an oven glove on fire in Bordeaux, and the other day I managed to burn a couple of fingers on the handles of a saucepan. I’d argue that it was the manufacturer’s fault for making the handles out of something that conducts heat so well. Anyway, if you don’t hear from me for a while and you see a news story about a house fire in central Italy,  you’ll know what’s happened.

My landlord (who was living here before me) left pretty much everything apart from clothes, including these mystery kitchen items. I’d be very interested to hear if anyone knows the purpose of the following objects:

Mystery object 1

10 inch tweezers?

Mystery object 2

Throwing knife?

Mystery object 3

Can holder-but-not-opener?

Mystery object 4

No idea

And finally, not so much a mystery object as my NEW FAVOURITE KITCHEN THING. The moka pot is Italy’s answer to the cafetière, and comes in many different sizes including this adorable 1-cup version. Since I’ve been finding 8.15 classes difficult to handle, I’ve started weaning myself onto caffeine in the morning. The moka pot is ideal because it makes those cute shot-size cups of coffee that Italy is known for, and that are a lot easier for me than a big mug of coffee. I’m definitely going to invest in one of my own to take home, mostly because they are so fun to use!

Moka pot

Sights of the day

From my bedroom window you can see the mountain that the centre of town is built on. At the very top, there is something that lights up at night. At first I thought it was a  knock-off glow-in-the-dark Christ the Redeemer, but after closer inspection I have concluded that it’s a giant crucifix. I don’t know if there is a church next to it, or if it’s just a jazzy Catholic way of warning planes to avoid the mountain.

The redeemer?

This is the goody bag full of pasta and olive oil that I was given when I arrived here. I just really enjoy how they combined the string handle into a nice little bit of marketing for the brand 😀

Packaging design makes me happy

7 Responses to “The most flammable place I have lived in (so far)”

  1. nigelmaura@aol.com February 2, 2013 at 15:17 #

    Nonna will be proud of you learning how to make coffee in one of those gadgets! Remember her using it many times, especially when friends dropped round unexpectedly for coffee and biscuits. As for the three legged thingy……what does it look like underneath?? Mum xx

    • louiseineurope February 2, 2013 at 15:26 #

      It looks a bit like one of the throwing blade things…maybe it’s a vegetable slicer? x

      • Marino Muntjan February 3, 2013 at 05:10 #

        Hi Louise Nonna still uses the coffee pot is called “la caffettiera” used only when David comes here because as a “barista esperto” does not like instant coffee. N N B xxxx

  2. Lorraine February 9, 2013 at 11:25 #

    Love the way that Nonno has signed off as N N B. Wondering who the B is? They have in fact dog napped Billy, and are finally returning him to us tomorrow!!
    P.S. Think that 3 legged gadget looks like a slicer.

  3. Marino Muntjan February 11, 2013 at 05:12 #

    Hi Louise Feb.11 no news since Feb,5 where are you? N N

    • louiseineurope February 11, 2013 at 18:17 #

      Hey Nonno, I’m ill at the moment but I promise an update once I’m better! x

      • Marino Muntjan February 13, 2013 at 07:00 #

        Hi Louise we hope you will get better very soon how was the Carnevale in Spoleto? xxx

Leave a Reply

acatineasterneurope

she's gone away again

Best In Packaging

Worldwide innovations in packaging technology with a ‘touch of greenness” and an accent on sustainability and recyclability

Pritchard&Daly

Life is a cake walk

The Portal Bedroom

Designing rooms... with Science!!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Strumpet Post

A strumpetous, strumpelicious and strumpadacious international strumpets' forum.

