Pics or it didn’t happen

17 Sep

I can’t believe I’ve been here for two weeks already! The time has flown by in the past week, mainly due to the fact that I have an apartment and so have for the most part been stress free (we’ll gloss over this G006 business). On Sunday morning I went for a late breakfast with Aaron and Abbie at this great place where you can pay 8€ and get a pastry, hot drink + cold drink, plus unlimited bread with  a huge selection of spreads. Some delicious, some not so much…kiwi and banana jam is an acquired taste. As is usual on Sundays in France, it’s difficult to get anything done as most places are shut, meaning we had to go on a bit of an adventure looking for a tabac where Abbie could topup her phoneEven harder to find in France are cashpoints, as banks tend to be grouped together rather than spread evenly around town. This is even more of a nightmare if you have a French bank account as generally you will be charged if you use any bank’s ATM apart from your own. I’ve avoided this by simply not bothering with a French account since I’m only here for another 3 1/2 months, and have instead resorted to withdrawing large amounts of money from my UK account to minimise on charges, then running back to my apartment before I can get mugged.

In the afternoon we visited the Musée d’Aquitaine which was…informative. I got to see plenty of old spearheads, pots, statues with no noses (Why do they never have noses?? Were all Greeks and Romans very clumsy?) etc. etc, the usual historical stuff. Not entirely my cup of tea, but hey, now I can say I’ve been there. We then stopped off at a café for drinks where I got to try Agrum’, which I don’t think you can get in England. It’s a sort of citrusy blend thing, quite nice when the weather’s as good as it is at the moment! I’ve been planning to go to the beach for a while but our plans keep falling through and I’m worried our sunny days are numbered. At least being British it’ll still be acceptable to go even when the temperature reached the chilly lows of 20’c. Speaking of chilly, I also had the joy of experiencing an icy shower the other day due to our hot water having gone walkabout somewhere. I managed to get a couple of seconds of lukewarm out of it where I could get my hair wet, but then it suddenly turned arctic and I spent the majority of the shower talking myself into washing my shampoo out again while fearing brainfreeze. Hopefully this won’t be a regular occurrence, especially when it actually does get cold here (or so I’ve been told) in about November. I had an evening at home catching up with UK friends via the interwebs and trying to get my head round more admin stuff for uni, as I would at some point actually have to deal with the problems I decided to ignore on Friday.

As promised, here are a few photos of my room:

After some initial struggles I’m getting used to sleeping in a cabin bed, despite it’s general squeakiness if I move in any way, plus the lack of lightswitch anywhere near it.

If you look closer you’ll see that I’ve wired my own death trap purely because I’m stubborn and want to use my under-bed desk as my computer desk, despite the only functioning plug being on the opposite wall. It’s especially fun when I try to go to the toilet in the night. I almost caught Emily in it yesterday as well, but not quite.

The view from my balcony – to the right of the road is a small infant school, which my balcony offers a fine view into. In the mornings I am awoken by the screams of young children. Almost as good as the dawn chorus.

Sights of the day: Home Edition

I’ve noticed a couple of oddities around the house which I thought I’d share for your general perusal and discussion. First up, the questionable lion head on the wall above one of the fridges. It’s the only one in the house, seems to serve no purpose, and quite frankly, it’s a bit strange. There’s also a niggling feeling that we may be being spied on through a small camera in its mouth. But let’s not dwell on that too much.

Next is the hole in the wall in the corner of the kitchen. I find it too creepy to go much closer. Maybe something lives in there.

The only form of ventilation for Emily’s ensuite cupboard (shower included) is this window, for which there are no blinds or shutters at all. When taking a shower you can either create your own sauna by shutting the window, or leave it open and hope no one looks in.

And then we have the most mysterious of all, the pipe-thing in the laundry/shower/boiler room. I opened the little trapdoor but still have no idea what it might be. Laundry/rubbish chute? Coal fire? Does it lead to a furnace? I’m tempted to drop a steak  attached to a piece of string down it to see if anything comes back.

4 Responses to “Pics or it didn’t happen”

  1. Ellen Grace September 17, 2012 at 21:11 #

    Louise I am enjoying following your blog so much! Never fails to make me chuckle! And loving the sights of the day xxxx

    • louiseineurope September 17, 2012 at 21:12 #

      Thankyou Ellen! Are you away on your year abroad yet? Keep me updated 🙂 xxxx

  2. Charlie Cope September 18, 2012 at 01:24 #

    I’ve read some pretty appauling blog/journal things like this, but yours isn’t one off them. Actually made me laugh quite a bit and is kinda useful information at the same time…particularly love the appartment pics…hope you’re all good xx

    • louiseineurope September 19, 2012 at 12:42 #

      Thanks Charlie! Hope your year abroad is going well if you’re already away 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

acatineasterneurope

she's gone away again

Best In Packaging

Worldwide innovations in packaging technology with a ‘touch of greenness” and an accent on sustainability and recyclability

Pritchard&Daly

Life is a cake walk

The Portal Bedroom

Designing rooms... with Science!!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Strumpet Post

A strumpetous, strumpelicious and strumpadacious international strumpets' forum.

